New
Find
Notify
Tools

encore in 209 150
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Has anyone used the Encore black powder pistol? I have been using a Gonic for several years and not completely satisfied. Appreciate replies.

Posts: 40 | Location: nashville | Registered: 13 November 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I meant muzzleloader not necessarily blackpowder

one of us
posted Hide Post
pistoljess,

I haven't tried the pistol, but sure like the 209X50 rifle. Recoil is not bad with two pellets, but it will get your attention with three. The removable breach plug does make cleaning seem a lot easier than with a sidelock. Also very handy if you don't want to fire it to unload it or have failure to ingition. I had to pull a ball on a sidelock before, and it was no fun!

About the only thing that I don't like about it is that you have to carry and use that ball seater attachment that screws onto the end of the ramrod because it is too short to seat the projectile by itself.

I'm switching back to the 209X50 barrel this weekend because MO ML season opens the seventh, and I still have a tag to fill. It did the job last year, button-buck at a laser-measured 172 yards....

Regards, Bill

Posts: 1169 | Location: USA | Registered: 23 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Sean VHA #60013
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by pistoljess:
Has anyone used the Encore black powder pistol? I have been using a Gonic for several years and not completely satisfied. Appreciate replies.

Pistoljess,

Greetings! What sort of trouble is the Gonic giving you? Is this a Gonic Contender?

Posts: 830 | Location: Virginia, USA | Registered: 08 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have a 15" encore 209x50 barrel. I have had great sucess with 90 grain equivalant load of select and 295 power belt. shoots very well.

Posts: 41 | Location: shawnee, ks. usa | Registered: 03 September 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post