New
Find
Notify
Tools

Recoil comparison
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Well, now that I have my Contender (sort of, the frame is back at the factory, danged hammer spring) I am contemplating my next barrel. While I have shot revolvers from .22 to .454, I am relative new to this handrifle craze. My father has a .444 contender that recoil is unpleasent at best. I have located a .35 rem barrel for $100 which sems like a good deal, but I wonder about the recoil. I've also spotted a few barrels in .375win, and I do love the straight cased cartridges, but I know very little about this round. I would love to have a .357max, but can't seem to locate one that's not attached to a frame. Could a .357mag be reemed to .357max? And how big of a project would this be? Sorry for the all the questions, but I'm a newbie so please bear with me.

Posts: 29 | Location: Del City Okla | Registered: 03 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of McClura
posted Hide Post
Buy the .35 Rem and if you don't like it, have it rechambered for a 358JDJ or 358Bellm. These are both formed from the .444 straight wall case with a short neck. They are both cannons and you will not need any more power than one of these for any thing in North America. I have shot the 358JDJ and it does 2600 FPS with a 225 and 2700+ with a 180. I have two JDJ rechambers and both shoot under an inch at 100 yds and with my 309 shooting 2.5" high at 100 it will hit dead on at 200. With a good scope and some Pachmyers you will not be unhappy with it. Just my opinion. I shot the .375 Win and it hurts but I have a hot rod 45-70 custom w/break that is all I want to shoot. [Eek!]
Mike
Norman, OK
Three of my favorite cartridges--
7-30 Waters, 309JDJ, 30-06
 -

[ 06-16-2003, 23:11: Message edited by: McClura ]

Posts: 311 | Location: Oklahoma | Registered: 17 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of T/C Nut
posted Hide Post