Find
Notify
Tools

Best cross draw holster for a 1911
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Wink
posted
I find most holsters darned uncomfortable in an automobile and some make it difficult to get to your pistol/revolver when seated. I have no experience with them but it just seems like a cross draw holster, especially when you are behind the wheel, would be the most appropriate. What is the consensus for best cross draw holster on the market today for a 1911?

AR, where the hopeless, hysterical hypochondriacs of history become the nattering nabobs of negativisim.

Posts: 7046 | Location: Rambouillet, France | Registered: 25 June 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Wink

Take a look at the De Santis Sky Cop. I have not used that particular holster, but I use their dual action hunter crossdraw a lot.

Another choice is to wear your normal carry holster and have a "driving" holster.

The driving holster is put on after you are in the car, it fits cross draw and is designed to be easilly attached and taken off your belt. It carries the gun almost horozontal, in a very comfortable position.

It is designed only to be worn while seated, when you get out of the car, you ut your gun in your normal holster and take the driving holster off.

I have a Driving" holster made by Ross Leather in South Sfrica for an N frame Smith.
It works very well.

DOUBLE RIFLE SHOOTERS SOCIETY

Posts: 16134 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I like the Bianchi Cyclone. It is very handy on a horse and stays out of the way when fly fishing.

Posts: 3073 | Location: Pittsburgh, PA | Registered: 11 November 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Palmer
posted Hide Post
Tony definately has the experience to give an opinion on this one.

What I use is a surplus aviators holster from Cathey Ind. It stays out of the way just fine but that driving holster Tony mentioned sounds even better.

ALLEN W. JOHNSON - DRSS