New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bad news from NZ
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Dont know why you guys are finding it so hard to get to page 3. Its easy. Look.

Posts: 4242 | Location: South Island NZ | Registered: 21 July 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I won’t comment on New Zealand.

But we have a right wing government here in the UK.

Gun controls getting ever tighter

A forthcoming ban on the import and export of all hunting trophies or parts of hunted animals or birds.

Licensing of shoots and licencing of release of any game birds

And a massive cull of deer, with contractors being paid by government agencies to shoot as many deer as they can. Deer in scotland in many areas have been or are being wiped out.

Left don’t have the monopoly on being bad for hunting.

I think modern democracy is now heavily skewed by ever growing urban centric populations. 30 years ago when I was a student on local mixed arable farm of 1200 acres there 4 full time staff, 2 summer students and the farm owner himself. Now that same farm is run by his son and 2 full time staff, and they have added an additional 1,000 acres. There were three farming business based in the village and a good number worked in and around the village.

Village has grown in size. Only 3 families living in the village work on farms - most others commute to Oxford (10 miles) or london and work in office or high tech tech jobs.

Myself - first degree in Agriculture, bushman at heart, but work in technology companies. Most of my colleagues have little understanding of hunting or whats involved - but they love the venison!

Posts: 981 | Location: Scotland | Registered: 28 February 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Yep can understand your troubles Heym.
We had a river care meeting in my district. At it a map from the regional council ( Defacto environment agency) was produced. It showed 80% of our district planted in trees in the next 25 years. Thats the destruction of our community.