Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: 'FIREARMS INSPECTION' - Specs?
 Login/Join

posted
G'day guys, I'm still a newbie to this whole shooting scene. Been shooting for about 8 months now and it rocks!!! I have a small collection compared to some (probably most of you ). At last count 3 rifles ( .223 remington BDL .308 BRNO and an old 1927 lithgow .303) and 1 SXS shotgun (stevens, polished.... man that took some work) and three more shottys to come ( stevens single barrel 16g, 20g and a mosberg bolt action 12g). They're multiplying rapidly! lol. It seems to be pick one up and buy another Anyway does anyone know the actual specs that the firearms department uses to determine whether or not firearms are securely locked up? I have my collection in a galvanized steel tool box (internally screwed to the floor) at the moment, with double master padlocks and the ammo n bolts are kept in a digital keylock safe.

The last thing i want is for the boys to come knockin and take all my toys because i don't meet current specs

Posts: 10 | Location: Adelaide, Australia | Registered: 27 January 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Don't know about SA laws your best bet would be get to a SSAA range and ask some people or see if the police have any info sheets on firearms storage (if you are worried about it you don't have to tell them who you are) take good care of that 1927 lithgow rifles from the 20-30's are generally the best made Lee Enfields from anywhere and some of the harder to find rifles Lithgow didn't make many rifles in the period

Posts: 249 | Location: Australia | Registered: 13 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
1927-1928 only 3200 were made,nice catch.HTH

Picture of Bakes
posted Hide Post
Mate I suggest you invest in a proper gunsafe OR if you are able to, make your own. The specs to make one are available from your firearms registry. With a proper safe you'll have no doubts and no worries.