Find
Notify
Tools

Anybody DIY moly coating?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of nightwalker uk
posted
Looking at past topics plenty of shooters are for moly and probably more against it.

Personaly I have been using it for about 3 years and am getting great results, carefull with barrel cleaning and the correct use of Kroil though.

My main dilema is that I now want to have a go at doing the moly myself, have researched it but would like to hear what europeans are using to degrease their bullets - in the USA alot use 'Dawn' dishwasher soap, whats being used over here, don't really want to tumble bullets in untreated corn media (would mean purchasing another bowl for tumbler etc) and don't like media ending up in hollowpoint tips - though haven't found this to effect accuracy.

Anyones thoughts would be appretiated, going to try the "peening" in jars, in the tumbler, anybody do this?

Posts: 418 | Location: Derbyshire, England | Registered: 09 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of aktoklat
posted Hide Post
I use the Lyman Kit. It has super fine moly and does not need to be waxed. If I open a new box of bullets I moly coat them without any cleaning if the bullets are in new and non-oily condition. Older bullets are cleaned wtih Dawn or a mild dish detergent! I have not had any super oxidized bullets yet. IF I did I would place them in multiple holed bowl,like the one you use to rinse vegetables, and place them in the dishwasher.

Focus on the leading edge!

Posts: 453 | Location: Louisiana by way of Alaska | Registered: 02 November 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Frowner Big negative comments on molycoating on some other forums. Apparently there are reports of unusual barrel corrosion. Will try and find the link (edited) for general interest.

Rgds Ian

Just taking my rifle for a walk!........

Posts: 1306 | Location: Devon, UK | Registered: 21 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Cool

Nightwalker,