New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cheap camo ideas?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I hopefully will make my first coyote hunt this winter and realized I should have some winter camo. Poked around at Cabela's, etc., and realized that I would be shelling out over $80 for something I might never use if the hunting arrangements fall through.

Stopped into an army surplus store yesterday and saw some winter clothing: a 3/4 length top and pants for $25 in a thin synthetic/cotton blend type of material. The area where I hope to hunt is farmland cut with brushy creekbeds, so I assume something with a pattern would help in concealment.

Was thinking I could sponge/brush on some RIT dye or something similar. Anyone try this approach, if so, would the die work ( not run, etc?) and what sort of pattern might work best ( I've seen "blotches" and twig-like patterns).

Like I said, I'm a rookie at this and don't want to make any more mistakes than normal.

TIA,

Bob

[ 11-08-2002, 03:27: Message edited by: Borealis Bob ]

Posts: 733 | Location: N. Illinois | Registered: 21 July 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Stryker225
posted Hide Post
Just dip yourself in glue and roll around in a pile of dead leaves. [Big Grin]

Can get a bit itchy though... [Eek!]

Posts: 1282 | Location: here | Registered: 26 January 2002Reply With Quote
<David Boren>
posted