THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM VARMINT HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Varmint Hunting    Got my 1st and 2nd Coyote this morning

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Got my 1st and 2nd Coyote this morning
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of keithv35
posted
Talk about a great day. I'm new at this coyote hunting thing, bought a Foxpro last year but didn't get out much.
I spent the night in my Wiggy's sleeping bag listening to half a dozen coyotes howling all night. At dawn I walked about a mile behind camp and set the Foxpro caller about 50 yards from me.

Within two minutes of calling I saw one coyote sneaking in from the left and then saw two coming in from the right. The brush was pretty tall but eventually this one came into the clear and stood still. I shot him with my .224 Wby Mag. It's a Varmintmaster and I was using 50 gr Hornady V-Max in front of 33.4 grains VVN 140 powder. He dropped right in his tracks. Boy was I pleased, my first coyote and with my handloads. It's the first time the Weatherby had been bloodied by me.

I made a second stand an hour later about a mile and half further down the road. I missed a nice red colored coyote that came in from behind me. I got one shot off with a Browning .204 Ruger before he kicked in the afterburners. I wholeheartedly agree with VG that one of the nice things about the 204 was that I clearly saw I missed through the scope at the shot.

One more stand about 9:30 paid off with this coyote coming in at a dead run. He ran about thirty yards past the call and stopped at a slight angle facing away from me. I shot him through the ribs with a 32 grain accutip (Remington Factory Ammo). He turned a circle biting at his ribs and ran about 30 yards spraying blood the whole way. The 204 made a believer out of me.

Two coyotes, two different guns....what a day!

This is what the area looked like