THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM VARMINT HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Varmint Hunting    Any reason not to choose a Mil-dot for PD shooting over the more standard reticles?

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Any reason not to choose a Mil-dot for PD shooting over the more standard reticles?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I need to order a variable scope of up to 24x for my Varmint rig. I want to be able to shoot PD up to 450 yards with it. (and use it the most of the time for 100 yard paper punching)I am not the kind of guy who re adjusts the elevation clicks for each shot. I rely entirely on holdover beyond 100yards. Being I have not previously done any hunting, I have little experience with shooting beyond 100 yards.

Am I overlooking something here....but I can't see any reason why a Mil-Dot scope reticle like as in my Elite 4200 for example, isn't always the best scenario and the way to go. The center crosshair of my Elite mil-dot scope is fairly fine so it wouldn't block out a small target either.

Isn't a regular multi x, duplex or fine crosshair reticle hard to judge how much hold over to use when compared to a mil-dot style reticle?

I happen to prefer the 6x-24X Elite 2400 scope with a side focus. It is only available in the mil dot. It's a great value at under $500.

Posts: 45 | Location: Houston | Registered: 06 December 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
in my scopes the mildot reticule is too big, the dots cover to much target - I preser either a fine crosshair or a 1/8-1/4 minute dot

Posts: 13446 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have used the Leupold Mil-Dot reticle 6-24 side focus and it worked okay for me.

I like the night force Mil dot a bit better though. Allows you to see through the dot itself if you need to.