New
Find
Notify
Tools

Varmint rig on a budget
 Login/Join

<FarRight>
posted
I am a college student-- I wash dishes during the school year and work Trails for the Forest Service during the summer. I don't have alot of cash. Yet here in Bozeman, MT, we have some pretty good p-dog hunting. I am looking for an affordable varmint rig--like under a grand, scoped. Tall order, I know. I like the Rems but the VS looks to perhaps be a little expensive. What about Savage? Or even an NEF single shot?

O and I shoot south paw as well...thanks.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I think you'd be hard pressed to find a rifle in the price range of a Savage that would shoot as well. Tried the NEF route awhile back just to do it and found that having to take the rifle down from the shoulder to reload for another quick shot was a pain in the ass. Recommend a 223 or 22-250. 223 brass is cheap and availabe. Cheap to reload. Invest in a reloading press. Take more ammo than you'll ever think you'll need as you will. I go to Wyoming every summer and take 1200 rounds and I'm usually empty by the 4th day.

Posts: 1361 | Location: congress, az us | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Got to agree with the first post. My Savage 10fp in .223 will have all shots touching -- literally -- at 100 metres, for as long as I want to pull the trigger. And that's with an (elderly) Tasco 6-24x44 scope that just keeps hanging in there.

Posts: 104 | Location: Perth, Australia | Registered: 21 May 2002Reply With Quote
<Bruce Gordon>
posted
Third vote for the Savage. A couple of guys bought brand new ones in 223 at the gun show last year, came out to the range and mounted the scopes right there on the bench, sighted in the rifles, and did some surprising shooting. They each had a case of the black hills ammo with the intent of reloading the brass down the road.