THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM VARMINT HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Varmint Hunting    .222 Remington & 25 WSSM Varmint Battery: Your opinion

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.222 Remington & 25 WSSM Varmint Battery: Your opinion
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
What is your opinion of a .222 Remington and 25 WSSM as the beginning team of a varmint battery?

Thank you for your input.

Posts: 2627 | Location: Where the pine trees touch the sky | Registered: 06 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Buliwyf: I have no experience with the 25 WSSM so I can not comment there.
One of my first centerfire Varmint Rifle was in 222 Remington caliber. I have been in love with this caliber from that day on! 40+ years now and counting.
The 222 Remington is even a better Varmint caliber today than it was 4 decades + ago, due to the expanded selection of bullets and bullet weights that perform so wonderfully in the 222!
I heartily recommend you give the 222 Remington a fair chance to earn a permanent spot in your Varmint arsenal!
As for 25 caliber Varminters in general - I have owned some in the past and to tell the truth for many years now (decades!) I have been very happy with my various 24 caliber Varminters (from 6mm Remington Ackley Improved and 240 Weatherby on down!), my 22 caliber Varminters and more recently my 17 and 20 caliber Varmint Rifles!
To much recoil and to much barrel heat from the 25's for me to (happily) do much with them anymore.
Best of luck with your "sprouting" Varmint arsenal!
Hold into the wind
VarmintGuy

Posts: 3067 | Location: South West Montana | Registered: 20 August 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The 222 is very accurate.....enough said..

The 25 WSSM is the only factory WSSM cartridge that I actually would have an interest in...

I have played with necking one up to 6.5 mm...