THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM VARMINT HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Varmint Hunting    Need advice for long range shooting(hunting)

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need advice for long range shooting(hunting)
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am new to PD shooting as a sport unto itself.. I have shot several times as a side light while in WY or CO deer and antelope hunting..I plan on going to SD this spring on a dedicated PD shoot. I have two guns ready to go.
#1- Cooper 204 -39 grain Sierra@3875 fps , <1/2 MOA, Nigth force 5.5-22x56mm w the NP -R2 reticle
#2- Cooper 6.5/284- 139gr.Scenar @ 2970 fps, shoots in the 3's and 4's, Nightforce 8-32x56 also has the NP-R2 reticle.This reticle has 2moa cross wires with 20 MOA built into the reticle drop form center cross wire.
The 5.5-22 scope has about 109 minutes of internal adjustment and the other Nightforce has about half that (49 MOA),.
The question that I need advice on:
Do most of you experienced PD or LR shooters just use the crosswires for holdover or justup or down clicks or combo of both?? Please elaborate, I especially value GHD and VarmintGuy's brain drain as these guys are my heros>>(grin)
thanks much
Doc Stone

one of us
posted Hide Post