THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM VARMINT HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Varmint Hunting    50gr Blitz King, Ballistic Tip, or VMax

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

50gr Blitz King, Ballistic Tip, or VMax
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I originally went with match bullets because I did not want dinner plate holes on the off side. I am new to coyote hunting and have been told that my Hornady 52grHPBT Match bullet loads will certainly exit over 100yrds. Furs are important to me and I think the 50gr bullets might work best from my Rem700/22"/14"twist/22-250. The question is, which one? I am sure there might be even support for all, but maybe there is a standout. Which do you use and why (50gr Blitz King, Ballistic Tip, or VMax)?

Deke.

Posts: 691 | Location: Somewhere in Idaho | Registered: 31 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Jay Gorski
posted Hide Post
Deke, The Vmaxs will open up the best and will not penetrate a yote, Blitzkings next, then bal tips, they retain alot more weight than VM and BK bullets, Jay

Posts: 1745 | Location: WI. | Registered: 19 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Deke: I have yet to prove this for my self but I have heard from very good authority that the Speer 52 gr. Hollow Point Flat Base bullets (not the Speer 52 gr. Hollow Point Boat Tail) are the ideal bullet for Coyotes and pelt saving.
One of my sources for this is a recently retired Government Trapper and Coyote shooter over in eastern Montana. For many years he has been using this bullet in his long range Coyote Rifles (22-250's and 220 Swifts). He claims that very little pelt damage happens with this bullet. He also is a pelt saver. He kills tons of Coyotes!