New
Find
Notify
Tools

longest shot
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
What is the longest shot anyone has made on a coyote with a 223 or 22-250, and what load and gun were you using were you using?

one of us
posted Hide Post
youngh. I've been doing some work in this long-range stuff for a few years now,since i began spotting and stalking coyotes. I'm using the Burris Ballistic Plex, and Ballistic Mil-Dot reticles in most of my scopes now, and I've come to the conclusion that if you approach long-range shooting systematically, you can hit a coyote farther than the effective range of the cartridge you're using. Just last week i hit a coyote at 550 yds. using a customized AR-15 in .223 AI with a 69 gr. Nosler @ 3100 f.p.s. Unfortunately, the bullet hit him in the hindquarter, and i lost him. I can't explain the poor hit, but it could have been from a # of factors, but shooting conditions was not one of them as it was a calm day. I took a dog at 450 with this rig a while back, and the bullet came apart like a varmint jacket-- quite explosive. I think if a guy could push this bullet several hundred f.p.s. faster it just might work for long-range coyotes--if pelt recovery is not a factor. The bigger plastic-tipped bullets would probably go out to 500 or so consistently out of a 22-250 maybe a little farther, using the ballistic reticle/laser rangefinder approach. In my opinion the bigger 6mm/25 cal bullets at high velocity are the way to go if you want to go long-range consistently on coyotes.

Posts: 926 | Location: pueblo.co | Registered: 03 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
My furthest was 607 yards with my 6mm ackley. it was total luck. my load is a 55 grain nosler bt on top of a stiff charge of varget. cruising right along at 4200 fps, consistantly grouping in the 4s.

Posts: 485 | Location: Boise, Idaho | Registered: 17 January 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post