New
Find
Notify
Tools

Call of a lifetime
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Thought you guys in this forum would appreciate this. I've been calling varmints around these here lower 48 for about 45 years now. Mostly South Texas, but Maine, Idaho and others as well. Anyway to make a long story short, I was on a muzzleloader deer hunt in area 16 in New Mexico last week. We were in the area in the Gila National Forrest around Beaverhead. Deer hunting was great, deer spotting was poor. However we had an abundance of coyotes and I even had a nice fox come with in 35 yds before he saw me looking at him through my scope (yeah I know muzzleloader). So with only 2 days left, I picked up a furbearer tag (needed for fox) and decided I would do a little squeaking during the last 15 minutes of hunting time (sunset ends the time here). A squeaker was the only call I had with me. I was in a 7500' high meadow that had lots of sign of deer activity and started squeaking at 5:15. Nothing drastic, just a few squeaks and then wait a minute two. After about 10 minutes and my 3rd set of squeaks, I was slowly looking around when I saw a face in the tall grass looking at me at about 25 yards. I eased the rifle up and sure enough, I was staring eyeball to eyeball with a mountain lion. Now this caused a bit of a dilemma. I didn't have a lion tag and they are required two days prior to hunting/shooting one. So, all I could do was watch as this beautiful creature decided I was too big to eat and watch him bound off through the grass. My better half says it's too bad I don't have proof. I just laughed and told her "Honey, I don't need proof! I saw it!" Anyway just a short narrative of how 10 minutes of squeaking turned an otherwise uneventful deer hunt into an experience I will remember the rest of my life. A cougar at 25 yds during daylight with a hand call. Life doesn't get much better than that.

Thaine
"Begging hands and bleeding hearts will always cry out for more..." Ayn Rand