THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Black Powder Cartridge Rifles    Request Advise in Selecting a Mould for 45-70
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Request Advise in Selecting a Mould for 45-70
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I recently purchased a C Sharps 1875 in 45-70 with a 30 inch barrel. This is a 10 pound rifle of recent manufacture.

I'm considering either a Lyman or Hoch mould since they are readily available as opposed to a custom mould. From what I read a 500 grain or so bullet works best. Two Lyman moulds can be bought for the price of one Hoch at Midway. The Hoch are nose pour which is apparently requires more skill and temperature control in casting.

I'm just starting out with both the BPCR and casting. I have an old 20 pound casting pot that someone gave me years ago that does not have temperature control - except if you reverse the power cord plug-in it goes from one power level to another.

Experienced advise would be greatly appreciated! I've read quite a bit of available info and am somewhat acquainted with what's involved.

Posts: 134 | Location: Western Washington | Registered: 24 October 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
First, it depends on how far you want to shoot. I use Lyman and RCBS and Lee molds; I shoot the 490 pointed Lyman, and a Snover type, I will check on the weight. But I don't shoot over 300 yards so it doesn't matter much. The 550 grains have higher BCs. Which is why a lot of guys like the .40 cals as a 400 grain forty caliber has the same ballistics as a 550 grain 45 cal with less recoil but that is not what you asked.
If you are hunting at 100 yards, then that is different.

Posts: 17131 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Check out Buffalo Arms.com. They make excellent moulds.