New
Find
Notify
Tools

knife blanks
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Let me say to start i'm very very new to this building knife thing. I've never built one but would love to start. I want to start with just taking a knife blank and polishing it up and putting on a nice handle. I would like a a blank that will finish nice and sharping up nice. What kind of blank do I need to buy? What kind of steel? Grade? I would like a small skinner knife. What all tool will I need to get started to see if I will like this kind of thing? Thanks for all the help I know I came to the right place.

Posts: 91 | Location: south carolina | Registered: 17 June 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of GA DEER HUNTER
posted Hide Post
Buy a knife blade from Texas Knife Supply or Jantz. Then you can work on the guard and handle yourself. It's a good way to start.

Posts: 392 | Location: Atlanta, Georgia | Registered: 05 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
how long is a piece of string ?????
what one man thinks is a 'Nice" sharpened steel for a blade another calls rubbish.

- steel type & grade depends on how much maintenance you are prepared to do on the blade between uses.
ie stainless requires less maintenance than plain carbon steels
But
both types have excellent grades to produce "nice' sharpness.
For a first foray into knife making I would suggest a middle of the road priced blade in a shape that takes your fancy in 440C stainless or AUS8 or 8A and see how you go .
I would not start with a high priced steel your your first attempt.
( I would pay a little extra if a cryo treatment blade is available in your selected blade shape as they give better sharpness & retain it longer than the same blade that has not been cryo treated in the hardening.

Tools.
- some files
- some sandpaper, 180 - 600 grit
- a dremel with a 60 grit sanding drum is handy for roughing handle shapes ( but you can do it all with files & sandpaper).
- some super glue or epoxy