New
Find
Notify
Tools

knife sharpening help??
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
OK, I have NO experience with sharpening knives and would LOVE to do this, but with all the freakin choices out there to sharpen a knife, I'm not sure which one is best to get--I'd like to make this a "one time purchase" and just learn how to get it right with what ever system I end up with. Having said that I am leaning towards a DMT diamond stone system-one coarse stone and another fine stone-but there are so many other choices, I am not sure of its quality and ability to put a good edge on a knife
I've looked at the Lanskey and other similar systems, but really like the simplicity of having just a stone.

So, am I way off base here?

Thanks

Dave

one of us
posted Hide Post
Unless the sharpening system you use can raise a burr, it is a waste of your time.

I believe that most of the sharpeners that are sold actually harm the knife and make it harder and harder to sharpen the next time.

I believe in having a fast sharpener in your pocket while in the field. Anything you can use in a few seconds just to put a fast edge on your knife.

However for sharpening your knives when you get home you want something that can raise a burr so that you are fixing any dings that you might have gotten in the edge while in the field.

I strongly disagree with the use of the V rod sharpeners. I believe that they just sharpen the flaws in the knife-edge. The same trouble is found with all the other knife sharpeners that are drawn down the knife blade. Their problem is that if you knife-edge has a ding or nick in the blade, this type of sharpener will follow the ups and downs of the blade in an effort to sharpen them too.