Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What do you think? Login/Join

one of us
posted
Been thinking of getting a heavy rifle. The members of this board seem to know what they are talking about. Searching the web I found a place called American Huniting Rifles. Anyone here know anything about this company? I am thinking about getting one of their DGR's, any caliber recommendations?

Thanks in advance for all the information it is truly appreciated.

Kent

Posts: 116 | Location: Cleves, IA | Registered: 14 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I read about these guys a while ago. I have no great experience with their particular product per say, however, the CZ action should be a good strong action for building a big womper on.

I don't remember if i read about them in Rifle magazine or Handloader but if i locate the article i'll put it up for you.

as per cartridge recommendations, i'll yield to the more experienced individuals on this one.

Posts: 1723 | Location: wyo | Registered: 03 March 2001Reply With Quote
Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
I have a buddy that has one of there 500 AHR, and his ordering it is how I got the coponents for my 500 Jeffrey, a long story.

Anyhow, he is one of those men of few words, so I haven't gotten much out of him about the 500, but he seems to like it so far. Unfortunately he's not on the road system, or I would have gladly made a trip to shoot it!

Posts: 7213 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Unless I was just playing around, I'd stick to the standard calibers, 416, 458 Lott, 404 Jefferys and the 505 or 500 Jefferys in the bigger bores. Just my call.

------------------
Ray Atkinson

ray@atkinsonhunting.com
atkinsonhunting.com

Posts: 41875 | Location: Twin Falls, Idaho | Registered: 04 June 2000Reply With Quote
<500 AHR>
posted
Kent,