New
Find
Notify
Tools

ANOTHER GREAT BOOK-BIG BORES/ARFICA
 Login/Join

One Of Us
posted
I posted this forum in African Hunting earlier thinking it would be of interest to that crowd...Dogcat has suggested I post it here in Books as well....had never been here!! Here we go:
ANOTHER GREAT BOOK FOR AFRICAN HUNTERS-& BIGBORE SHOOTERS-

"AFRICAN DANGEROUS GAME CARTRIDGES" by Pierre van der Walt, South Africa 460 pages

I have recently received my copy of Pierre's new writings and it is simply fantastic for new or old Dangerous Game Hunters! I have been fortunate enough to visit the Dark Continent 10 times to date (two cruise/photo only) and 15 separate safaris and I feel I am still learning...and this book has been very enlightening to say the least. I would like to share my comments with you.

The title of the book would lead one to believe it is only about cartridges and maybe handloading. Well, not the case....over 30% (first 135 pages) of the book is dedicated to the rifles, clearly a controversy between bolt and doubles to begin with!! He begins with Terminology, ie Big and Dangerous game, caliber and bore sizes, velocity classification and threshold, then ventures into recoil and physical response to it, enough, fitness, etc. From there Pierre covers optics and alternative sighting systems, even scopes on dangerous doubles. Then into bullets and Nick and Flip theory, supercavitation, stabilization...things I have never really thought of directly...some I have learned by observation but clearly not understood the technical side...makes sense completely when explained as he does....and something to think about too...like needing a tighter twist for stabilizing dangerous game bullets!