THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SHOTGUN FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Other Topics  Hop To Forums  Shotgunning    Question on selling slug gun to Canadian buyer
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question on selling slug gun to Canadian buyer
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have a Marlin 512 slugmaster I put up for sale (rifled barreled 12 gauge slug gun). An interested party said he wanted it. He lives in Canada, but has a US address, ("Can we work something out?" he asked).

I don't want to "cut any corners." I want to be 100% proper/legal for any firearm transaction, and I would appreciate the board's wisdom.

Can I legally (rightfully), sell this firearm to someone in Canada, even though he has a US address? I will only ship to a USA FFL. If I know that the firearm will ultimately be taken to Canada, does that impact the transaction?

I asked the potential buyer to forward his USA FFL contact information to me, so I could ask him/her (the FFL) about this US/Canada tranasaction.

Does anyone have a correct and firm answer to this scenario? Sure would appreciate assistance. Thank you in advance.

I live in Maine (origination point for the firearm in question). I do not have to ship from an FFL in Maine (at least for USA FFL transactions).

--------------------------------------------------------
Behavior accepted, is behavior repeated.

Posts: 624 | Location: Maine, ayuh | Registered: 06 March 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Will preface this by saying call ATF, but, I,ve considered having one off my little brothers who lives in Canada send me a gun. Last time I checked, seems he would have had to take it to his local gun dealer, send it to the gun shop I get Christmas cards from, do the transfer that way. FFL to FFL type transaction.