Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

870 recoil?
 Login/Join

posted
hey all, i have been asking some question's about remington shotguns, as u all have probably seen. i have narrowed down my choice to the 870 Wingmaster Super Magnum.
i was wondering how rough the recoil is with a 3 inch magnum deer slug in it is? i am sure we all have shot a single shot 12 guage before, is it anything like shooting a deer slug in one of those? less, more?
i am asking coz i don't wanny buy a new shotgun, and have it kick like that, coz i would not like that at all.

"Keep your stick on the ice"

Posts: 21 | Location: O'Fallon Illinois | Registered: 24 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of cwilson
posted Hide Post
I don't know much about rifled slugs, but I have a lot of experience shooting 3 1/2" turkey loads out of an 870. It kicks like a S.O.B. - especially from the bench.

But, there is no free lunch and any similar sized gun shooting the same load will have similar recoil. I would suggest that you shoot one before you buy one. One thing that I did this spring was to add a new recoil pad. It made a BIG difference in felt recoil. It was a Remington R3 pad - which I think are made by Limbsaver. Sims Vibration Labs also makes a similar recoil pad. I highly recommend these recoil pads as they are soft (unlike the factory pad) and probably reduce felt recoil by 25%.

cwilson

Posts: 713 | Location: Boswell, PA, USA | Registered: 20 December 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Dutch
posted Hide Post
There is no such thing as a free lunch.

Recoil is determined by gun weight, and projecticle mass and velocity. Increase the mass or velocity of the projectile, and you increase recoil.

A premium recoil pad (kickeeze, Decelerator, Limbsaver) will help tame the beast, but it will never be fun to shoot a box or two. JMO, Dutch.

[ 07-01-2003, 17:32: Message edited by: Dutch ]

Posts: 4564 | Location: Idaho Falls, ID, USA | Registered: 21 September 2000Reply With Quote
one of us