THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM BIRD SHOOTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Bird Shooting    Cast and Blast at Eagles Nest Lodge, Montana

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cast and Blast at Eagles Nest Lodge, Montana
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of bwanamrm
posted
Eagles Nest Lodge
Hardin, Montana
Sept. 13 - 17, 2014

Short report on a three day blast and cast trip to Eagles Nest Lodge. Great food and accommodations! Fly into Billings and rent a car or schedule shuttle for the 45 minute drive to the Lodge. Fished the Bighorn River the first day for rainbow and brown trout. I am not an expert flyfisherman by any means but had a great time drifting and casting. My partner and I probably boated 16 to 18 fish on the float.

Second day we traveled to Lodge Grass and hunted at 5,000 feet for huns, sharptail grouse and a few preserve pheasant. I was shooting my Beretta 687 EELL 20 gauge with Estate high brass 6 shot. Took my limit of sharpies, pheasant and half a limit of huns. Shot over a pair of German Shorthairs. Excellent shoot and some beautiful country. Marked huns and sharps off my bucket list but definitely want to hunt them again!

The next day turned off warm with temps to the low 80's. We decided to hunt low for preserve pheasant so as not to overheat the dogs. Finished around 2:30 with our limits.

I can highly recommend the lodge, the guides and hunting and fishing. Montana licenses are not cheap but the scenery was worth the price of admission!

On the plains of hesitation lie the bleached bones of ten thousand, who on the dawn of victory lay down their weary heads resting, and there resting, died.

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
Or walk with Kings - nor lose the common touch...
Yours is the Earth and everything that's in it,
And - which is more - you'll be a Man, my son!
- Rudyard Kipling