Notify
Tools

What chokes for a SxS 20ga.?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Nemo .450
posted
Hello all,

I am brand new to shotgunning, and I don't know squat about shotguns or shotgunning.

I am getting a set of 20ga. shotgun barrels with the double rifle (double trigger of course) I am purchasing.

I am not much of a skeet shooter (don't know if that makes any difference).
I plan on hunting quite a bit with the shotie bbls.

In short, what chokes would y'all recomend for an all-around/generall purpose 20ga. shotgun?

And what choke should I get in which particular barrel?

Thanks in advance,

------------------------------------------------------------------------

He that believeth on the Son hath everlasting life: and he that believeth not the Son shall not see life; but the wrath of God abideth on him. -- John 3:36

http://www.accurateinnovations.com - http://aigunstocks.com/home-2/

NRA Life Member
DSC
SCI
DRSS - STILL waiting on MY "Taksdale" .450NE or a refund... coffee

"Young knight, learn to love God and revere women, so that your honour grows. Practice knighthood and learn the Art that dignifies you, and brings you honour in wars." (Johannes Liechtenauer, 14th century)

Posts: 279 | Location: North-East Georgia | Registered: 12 November 2010Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have hunted a lot with a 20ga, and have some double rifle drillings and a drilling with 20ga barrels.

Mod and full would be my choice for all round use.

Last month while deer hunting I killed a squirrel at 43 yards with a 3" No6.

DOUBLE RIFLE SHOOTERS SOCIETY

Posts: 16134 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of collector
posted Hide Post
Depends what you like to shoot most. Here are couple of examples.

DOVES:
MODIFIED/FULL You will be able to reach out to 60 yards and touch them

PHEASANTS:
MODIFIED/FULL

QUAIL:
SKEET/IMPROVED CYLINDER

DUCKS:
IMPROVED CYLINDER/MODIFIED