New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: smoke poll roll call
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Lets see I started shooting ML about 25 years ago. Atarted with a CVA Kit rifle in .45 my father bought me for Christmas. Rifle still shoots very well with a Hornady .440 ball, .015 patch, and 70 grains 3F Goex. This was also my first deer rifle and I hunted deer with it long before muzzleloading seasons.

Later I assembled the Matching CVA Kentucky Pistol also in .45. Next came a "Hawkin" or more correctly a plains styles rifle in .50. This was my first black powder rifle with a 1:48 twist. After 15 years I have yet to find a load for round ball (other than a 30 grain plinking load). Shoots Maxi Balls good though. Really do not shoot it much as I like the longer rifles better.

I later built a .50 plains rifle for my brother and another plains style for a friend. Both of these were upgrades from the simple kit guns in the past.

My current project is a Bucks County Styled Flintlock. a rifled .54 cal 38" Octagon to round Colerain barrel, Chambers/Siler lock, sand cast soft brass hardware, Grade 6 curly maple from Wayne Dunlop, Davis trigger, and other parts made by me. I plan on installing a wooden box lid and adding some carving.

My current pet fun gun is a SXS 24 GA Flintlock Double. It is and original. Dated to about 1790-1810. Lots of fun to shoot (I use moderate loads and soft lead shot naturally) and death on squirrel and rabbit. Even took it to the skeet range. Really helps me correct form problems in a hurry ... but I do manage to hut several clays with it each time. Makes my scores with my modern shotgun much better too.

I do have a Knight T-Bolt just for grins. I don't use it much as I have more fun with my "traditionally styled guns".