New
Find
Notify
Tools

.50 Cal Winchester Apex Loads
 Login/Join

posted
Gentlemen-
I am new to muzzleloader hunting and I recently purchased a .50 Caliber Winchester Apex. I have read all of the prior posts but I talked to several people who own an Apex and are very happy with them. I want to start working up a load for deer and would like some help. If you own an Apex, please post the powder (type and amount) and the bullet that you use. I would also like to hear what types of groups your are getting. I understand that every rifle is different, and I need to try different loads in my gun. However, I would like to narrow it down prior to going to the range, if possible. Thanks in advance for any comments and suggestions.

Hawkeye

Hawkeye0585

One of Us
Picture of Concho42
posted Hide Post
I can't find a .50 Apex ! Basspro.com clk on reviews for Winchester Apex lots of load info .

Don't take the chip !

Posts: 578 | Location: PA | Registered: 21 March 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Copied from elsewhere: "Then I shot my new Apex. I sited it in at 50yds and moved my target back to 100. I had a 1" bull on my target and put the next 3 shots in the bull. about a .50 group. First time this gun was shot was today. 2 T7 pellets and 250gr shockwave but I used harvester crushed rib sabot with them. For a 229 dollar gun looks like it will shoot with any of them."

Post made by a fellow at Huntingnet.com

WHUT?

Posts: 371 | Location: Missouri, USA | Registered: 25 December 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the suggestions. Does anybody else out there shoot a .50 Cal Winchester Apex?

Hawkeye

Hawkeye0585

one of us
Picture of Reloader
posted Hide Post
Jason,

I sighted one in last year. I shot well with two Pryodex 50 grain pellets under 250grn HDY SST sabots.

That load has been accurate in just about every MLer I've tried it in and it is great on whitetails.

Good Luck

Reloader