Find
Notify
Tools

Buckle your seat belts ladies and gentlemen Login/Join 
One of Us
Picture of Thomas "Ty" Beaham
posted
Silicon Valley Bank:
The bank closed on March 10, 2023, and was taken over by the FDIC after a bank run on its assets, becoming the second largest bank failure in American financial history.

Second largest bank in the Bay area only behind Wells Fargo.

16th largest in the nation.

Just got off the phone with a relative 5 minutes ago who told me he can not even log in to his account.

IMHO if I was a business owner I would personally refrain from taking a SVB check as
payment for goods or services, for now at least.

https://www.fdic.gov/news/pres...es/2023/pr23016.html

Posts: 2969 | Location: Arizona | Registered: 07 February 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
https://www.msn.com/en-us/news...02db1262bd1de1&ei=64

Silicon Valley Bank has collapsed. Here’s what we know.
Story by Julian Mark • 2h ago

XXX

"When fascism comes to America, it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying a cross." - Sinclair Lewis

Per my far-right friend: "reality sucks"

FYI - if you ID as "conservative" nowadays, Trump owns you.

Posts: 19795 | Location: Depends on the Season | Registered: 17 February 2017Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
So a bank involved heavily in tech venture start ups ended up not doing well in an inflationary cycle?

While a big bank failing is a problem, in this case it seems it’s business model (funding IPO type set ups in tech) isn’t exactly roaring in todays market, despite the Biden fans claiming this is such a great market.

Maybe the economy isn’t as robust as some claim?

At least it was FDIC insured…

Posts: 10666 | Location: Minnesota USA | Registered: 15 June 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Yea, surely Repugs could fix it all, if they would just get on with a little governance, like maybe a budget to negotiate over, instead of the alt-narratives focus.

XXX