New
Find
Notify
Tools

Nuvigil Login/Join 
one of us
Picture of dempsey
posted
This may be a long shot but anybody here use a cpap machine, still feel tired and have been prescribed the drug Nuvigil? My Doc suggested/prescribed it for me today. In general I'm gun shy of prescribed drugs other than antibiotics. This one is fairly new, hate to be a guinea pig. Thanks.

Posts: 6205 | Location: Cascade, MT | Registered: 12 February 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of CoyoteKiller82
posted Hide Post
I work as a pharmacy technician up here in Canada, and if the drug is on the market down there, it went through all the tests/drug trials that the FDA deems mandatory.

From the generic name, armodafanil, it looks like the company that markets it, reformulated an already on the market drug called modafanil.

We use modafanil for the same reasons up here in Canada, it is also available in the US, but this Nuvigil will be a new brand name that the company says works better. If it actually is better than modafanil, I'm not sure?

It isn't marketed in Canada, we are usually months and sometimes years behind the US in adding new drugs, not sure if our drug trials are more stringent than the US's, or if the Rx market is the same as the firearms industry, we're usually always behind!

Posts: 504 | Location: Manitoba, Canada | Registered: 03 December 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I would be interested to know as well. Have worn a CPAP for going on 3 years now (actually got re-sleep tested because of tiredness, now using an even more irritating machine called a BPAP). Still tired most of the time ( I think the damn machine wakes me up most of the time; problem is, without it, I REALLY feel like crap). Tried one of the standard sleep drugs, weirded me out. Best of luck! It sure ain't easy, but beats the alternative I guess.
Rick

DRSS

Posts: 709 | Location: Gulf coast SW Fla. USA | Registered: 21 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of dempsey