Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Anybody Raise Koi? Login/Join 
one of us
posted
Months ago I bought some small Koi. They didn't do any good. Then I bought four 4" Koi for our fountain and they did great. They would eat out of my hand. Then I noticed they became very frightened, and two disappeared. I chalked it up to cats or Kookaburras. I bought two more, but now the four have become even more afraid to show themselves and hide on bottom, in the plants. I haven't fed them in a week. They refuse to come out, but appear healthy, just not active.

Does anyone have any experience with these rascals.

Posts: 13775 | Location: Texas | Registered: 10 May 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of daniel77
posted Hide Post
I've some experience with them through some landscaping ventures. I know that they do need some cover for protection from birds and such. As far as staying on the bottom and not feeding much, that just sounds like wintertime metabolism dormancy to me. Are they inside or outside? Keep in mind that they are really just colorful carp.

Posts: 3628 | Location: cajun country | Registered: 04 March 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
They are outside, but it is summer here. Water temperature has been around 27 centigrade. I thought maybe that was keeping them down. They act exactly like the dormancy I see in winter when the temperature drops below 10; stationary, like they are sleeping, but not.

The two that disappeared were the most colorful (easiest to see); one gold, one orange and white. The people here say if you find pieces of fish, it's a cat. If you find nothing, it's a bird. Must be a bird. I've started covering the fountain at night.

One of Us
Picture of daniel77
posted Hide Post