New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bad work in JoBerg
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I just recieved the trophies from my 2004 South African Hunt. Simple skull mounts on simple wood plaques. Upon opening the crate I discovered all six were damaged in transit. I was able to repair them good enough for display as they are all hung up fairly high in my shop. I'm no expert but they look pretty cheaply mounted with a single wood 2x2 block glued in the skull to hold one screw then two other screws into the teeth. Acraglas to the rescue which fortunately can be dyed white to rebuild the broken out areas where the screws go.
The prices seemed cheap at the time of the hunt and thinking the shipping would be about the same as unmounted heads I had the taxidermy done there.
Over the two years it took to complete-which seems a little long- my correspondence with the company was tiring. Details of payments and timetables were slow in coming and simple questions required multiple emails. I was a little surprised they arrived at all after the poor communications with the company.
It's not a huge deal to me as it wasn't my first safari and none of the Animals were spectacular, but they nonetheless hold some fond memories.
My intent here is to alert anyone thinking about having their work done in JoBerg at Taxidermy International. My experience was poor and I don't recommend them. You can make your own decision.

Posts: 192 | Location: Redding, CA | Registered: 12 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of bo-n-aro
posted Hide Post
Hate to hear it!!

Posts: 594 | Location: Plano Texas | Registered: 15 July 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Mead Taxidermy Studio
posted Hide Post
Another testimonial to commercial African taxidermy work...

Bob Mead
Mead Taxidermy Studio
Deming, NM

www.meadtaxidermystudio.com

Posts: 43 | Location: SW New Mexico | Registered: 19 September 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of shakari
posted Hide Post
quote: