New
Find
Notify
Tools

Skull problems
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I've never done a european mount, so I decided to practice on a young doe whitetail I shot last week. It was a young animal, probably 9 months or so. I scraped off as much from the skull as I could, got most of the brains out, and boiled. Basically, the skull came apart, getting rubbery, etc. and then breaking off the snout. What happened here? Thanks

Posts: 425 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 07 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
cengel, I am by no means a pro at doing european mounts but I just finished 3 and they came out very nice.
How long did you boil the skull?
I had mine at a simmer for around 1 hour and they cleaned up nicely. I would think if you cooked a skull too long it might do as you described.
HTH

Posts: 268 | Location: God's Country, East Tex. USA | Registered: 08 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of bo-n-aro
posted Hide Post
"boiling" should only be used to kill the bacteria. It's very distructive to the skulls.
I recommend sending skulls to professional cleaners that use dermesties beetles. An average whitetail buck will run under $100, including your shipping. Check out Skulls Unlimited on the web.
If you REALLY want to do it yourself, trim the flesh, pull the eyes and wip the brain with a bent wire in a drill motor and wash it out. Fill a 5 gallon bucket with water and set the skull in it. Every couple of days,.... take a deap breath and hold it..... and pour the water off, rinse the skull with your garden hose on full blast,......dont breath yet......and fill the bucket again, and place the skull back in. You can breath now..... Continue the process until all the flesh is gone.
Now you can boil for a few minutes.....then rinse. Place the skull in some bleach water for an hour or so, and rinse again.