New
Find
Notify
Tools

All you deer hunters
 Login/Join

Picture of Bakes
posted
I have a whole leg of Rusa, bone in, I would like to roast. I've never done venision before, any tips you guys have in cooking this meat. I don't want it to turn out all dry.

Posts: 7978 | Location: Bloody Queensland where every thing is 20 years behind the rest of Australia! | Registered: 25 January 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of milosmate
posted Hide Post
Bakes you got email, hope the files were not too big!

Milosmate

Posts: 217 | Location: Christchurch,New Zealand | Registered: 24 November 2001Reply With Quote
Picture of Bakes
posted Hide Post
Yep got them, thanks mate.

Posts: 7978 | Location: Bloody Queensland where every thing is 20 years behind the rest of Australia! | Registered: 25 January 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Wstrnhuntr
posted Hide Post
Hey Bakes!

I cant say about Russa, but when I do a deer roast I just season it, add a spot of butter, some onions, maybe a strip of bacon or two and place it in the oven covered with foil for about an hour.

Ive found that if you combine veggies and other goodies that it tends to cook a gamey taste into them, so I cook them seperatley.

G-luck!

Posts: 10141 | Location: Tooele, Ut | Registered: 27 September 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Reloader
posted Hide Post
Bakes,

A Flavor Injector works great. Just find the desired flavor injector marinade and shoot it up w/ about 32 oz or so and let it set in the fridge over night. Wrap it in foil w/ some onions a potatoes and bake it on about 300 for 4 hours or until you have the desired tenderness. This method works even better on the pit or in a smoker.

Good Luck!

Reloader

Posts: 4146 | Location: North Louisiana | Registered: 18 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
overcooking venison causes tough meat. be careful of that and enjoy.

Posts: 3167 | Location: out behind the barn | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote