Find
Notify
Tools

Colorado Big Game Hunting Questions
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of graybird
posted
I know these questions may be elementary but I'd rather ask then get it wrong.

I've hunted Colorado twice but always as a non-resident; therefore, never really caring about the yearly bag limits. However, now that I'm a resident the yearly bag limits are now important.

So, now for the questions.

1. What are the combined yearly bag limits for deer and elk? I wasn't able to apply for the limited draw tags but I'm hoping to pick up a leftover cow or doe tag for couple of the various hunting methods/seasons.

2. If I get a leftover cow elk tag, can I also carry a bull tag for the same season?

Like I said just a newbie trying to find some answers. I looked at the DOW website last night but that thing is like reading Hebrew!

Thanks,

Graybird

"Make no mistake, it's not revenge he's after ... it's the reckoning."

Posts: 3722 | Location: Okie in Falcon, CO | Registered: 01 July 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
First, can you explain why you believe yearly bag limits can be ignored by non-residents? That statement tells me you really need to read and understand the regulations. Second, there is no "combined limit" for deer and elk; they are treated separately. Third, you really need to get a Colorado Big Game regulations brochure and read it thoroughly. If the regs. look like Hebrew, read them again. You need to understand them on your own--if someone gives you an answer here and it's incorrect, you're the one who gets a citation and it's your responsibility to know the regs. Beginner or not, it doesn't matter.

The regulations brochure has lists of licenses you can have in one season called "A" "B" and "C" licenses. Start there.

"No one but he who has partaken thereof can understand the keen delight of hunting in lonely lands."

Posts: 59 | Location: Colorado | Registered: 23 June 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
COphil,