New
Find
Notify
Tools

Winchester Supreme?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I was hunting with a long time friend yesterday, and he shot a small buck at a distance of about 325 yds. The bullet hit square on the left shoulder, after the shot the buck ran about 100 yds before piling up.
The entrance hole was the size of a quarter, obviously blowing up on impact. The deer was standing in a hay field at the time of the shot.
This was a .270 Winchester with 150gr. Ballistic Silvertip. I was not impressed to say the least. Has anyone had any experience with this ammo?, either good or bad. I'm thinking this ammo should be renamed.

Congrats to Jim White on his very nice Michigan 8 pt.this season
Stepchild

NRA Life Member

Posts: 1326 | Location: glennie, mi. USA | Registered: 14 July 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Mighty Peace
posted Hide Post
I have been shooting Winchester Supreme ammo for about 12 years. I have never shot the Ballistic Tips, only Failsafe, Partition Golds and now Accubonds CT. Never any problems, from shooting large WT/mulie bucks, moose, elk and bear in Alberta using my 300WM. I still like the Failsafes, eventhou some people had problems with their performance.

Try the Winchester Supreme Accubonds for the 270. My 270WSM loves them, and the performance on our game with this rifle caliber and bullet is AWESOME.

Posts: 431 | Location: Alberta | Registered: 02 May 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of CDH
posted Hide Post
I used the 140 grain Win BST ammo in a .280 for several years before relegating the .280 to a backup gun with a new purchase. I was never able to recover a bullet from 25 yards to 150 yards. They worked very well.

A buddy was showing a recovered bullet from a 115 grain 25-06 BST (also Win factory load) just today. It was the first bullet he ever recovered, and from his descriptio is traversed a good 15 inches after punching through the shoulder blade...being found under the skin in front of the opposite side rear leg.