Find
Notify
Tools

Elk Attack. PHOTOS!
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of D Humbarger
posted
I was at Estes Park Colorado for the annual Scottish Highland Games. Yep i'm one of those guys that wear a kilt & carry a dirk
& sword at every oppertunity. although i wasn't in my kilt & didn't have any long pointed sharp objects to protect myself when this happened. For those of you familar with Estes Park i was on the South side of the lake almost straight across from the golf course about 0730 on a walk. i knew the bulls were in rut so I was keeping my distance from them & their cows. this young guy caught me by suprise coming from the bushes as you can see in the photos. I was a photographer in Vietnam & my instinct kicked in & I started shooting. I was backing up as i was shooting not wanting to turn my back on this very pissed off & (horny) no pun intended elk. I kept backing up & he kept coming. He backed me up against a bunch of bushes like the ones he came out of. all I could do was crouch down so as to appear as small & non threatening as I could & keep backing up into the brush. Thank god it worked because he just stood there glared
& snorted am me then turned around & when
back the way he came. For you photo buffs
I had a 28 to 105 zoom on my Cannon 90 & when it was over I looked at the zoom setting. For the last shot i was on 35MM!
I have posted the shots in the sequence they
occured.

------------------

[This message has been edited by Bear Claw (edited 11-10-2001).]

Posts: 8346 | Location: Jennings Louisiana, Arkansas by way of Alabama by way of South Carloina by way of County Antrim Irland by way of Lanarkshire Scotland. | Registered: 02 November 2001Reply With Quote
<Guy>
posted