Find
Notify
Tools

Camp Cooley Ranch 12/5/07
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Eland Slayer
posted
I thought y'all might enjoy some pictures. I went to the Camp Cooley Ranch near Centerville, TX on Wednesday afternoon to take some pictures and visit with Alen, the wildlife manager. He has done quite a bit with the wildlife in the past 3 years.

Here are a few pictures of some Red Lechwe. I didn't get any really good pictures of them, but you can see the one REALLY wide bull.

Here are some pictures of the main herd of White Bearded Wildebeest. These were taken from about 250 yards away.........they wouldn't let us get any closer.

Here's a small group of Elk with a young 3-4 year old bull.

To give an idea of the habitat.........roughly half of the property looks like this.

Yaupon HELL!!

Here's a bachelor group of 4 Wildebeest bulls.

Now.........here's the best bull Elk we saw. I'd say he's a good'n. I'm not an expert on judging Elk, but if I had to guess............I'd say he's in the 350-370" range. He had incredible mass.

Same bull............different angle.

Here's an absolutely ANCIENT Barasingha buck. The poor guy is so old he can barely walk and as you can see, he only has two little stumps for antlers.

Lastly, here's a picture of the lake on the property. I think it's somewhere around 10-12 acres.

I was happy to see that Alen has been managing the animals well. The last time I was there, which was back in November 2003, none of the smaller species like Blackbuck, Axis, Whitetail, Fallow, and Impala were doing well. I found out why. Alen said that in the last 2 years, they've killed over 100 coyotes and 380 hogs..........all in the high fenced area, which is 1,000 acres!! HOLY CRAP!! No wonder none of the small animals were doing well. All the young ones were getting eaten by either coyotes or hogs.

Anyways............hope y'all enjoyed the pictures.

Hunt Report - South Africa 2022

Wade Abadie - Wild Shot Photography
Website | Facebook | Instagram