Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Foresters
 Login/Join

posted
I work for a forest company in Sweden. I would like to learn more about forestry and hunting in other countries. So if there are any other foresters on the forum please e-mail me at javc0922@yahoo.com

PCH

Posts: 5 | Location: Sweden | Registered: 19 May 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
PCH,

I am a forest engineer. I'm American, but living and working in South Africa right now. I was just in Sweden about a year ago for the forest engineering conference in Vaxjo.

My main areas of expertiese are forest roads and timber harvesting systems, particularly cable logging.

What kind of forestry are you involved in?

Posts: 643 | Location: DeRidder, Louisiana USA | Registered: 12 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I am also a forest engineer, a Norwegian one. To work abroad sounds very interessting. My fiels is GIS and computing within the forestry. How is the possibility for me too work outside Norway?

Posts: 25 | Location: Norway, Eastern part | Registered: 23 September 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
jrslate & hva 146,

Good to hear from fellow foresters. I do a bit of everything; harvesting plans, GIS/GPS, silviculture and moose management issues. Used to be into developing and improving CTL harvesting systems. I have a Msc in forestry.

Was the V�xj� conference good? Didn�t go there myself.

Posts: 5 | Location: Sweden | Registered: 19 May 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Redlander
posted Hide Post
I am a forester in East Texas working for the Government. My main duties include general forest management and planning - basically scheduling harvests, development and quality assurance for timber inventory and marking contracts, overseeing logging operations, and other duties such as prescribed burning. I have a Bachelor of Science in Forest Wildlife Management and Master of Science in Forestry (thesis was wildlife related).