New
Find
Notify
Tools

Moose as Excess Baggage?
 Login/Join

<M70>
posted
In a recent conversation with the outfitter that I have booked a moose hunt with, I have been informed that this outfitter no longer provides service in shipping of the trophy or meat.

I will need to provide my own containers, get the choice parts of the meat forzen, and bring along enough packing to proctec the antlers for the return flight from Anchorage to Los Angeles, as Excess Baggage.

Since I have either driven to, or hunted out fo the country (Africa & such), where the outfitter has either handled the shipment of the trophy, or I have had the meat quick frozen/processed and brought it home in the back of my truck, I'm new to the "Excess Baggage" idea.

I'm looking for suggestions as to what to take along to make the "Excess Baggage" concept work.

Or, has anyone shipped their gear and/or meat back to home through such as FedEx or UPS?

A clean bill of health from my doctor means that I leave Thurs, Sept 6.

Suggestions would be appreciated.

Good hunting,
Dale (M70)

<Don G>
posted
Try a different outfitter.

Don

<M70>
posted
Don,

I won't use them again. Unfortunately, it is too late to be changing outfitters. I've got to make the best of the situation and have a good hunt. Hopefully, bring home a good trophy and some excellent meat.

M70

[This message has been edited by M70 (edited 09-03-2001).]

<R. A. Berry>
posted
Bummer.
Take some empty 12/10 guage plastic hulls along and tape one over the point of each antler tine with the roll of duct tape you also brought along. Wrap the skull in plastic garbage bags and duct tape. Ship the antlers loose like this and hope they don't break in the airliner cargo hold. Have proper documentation/tags attached and have your taxidermist make up some tags with shipping address/ID, or just attach your own. There are no customs hassles going from the U.S. to the U.S. as you are.