Find
Notify
Tools

Remington model 700 DM
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Tanoose
posted
Whats the pro's and cons with the detachable magazine in the 700 bolt action.

Posts: 869 | Location: Bellerose,NY USA | Registered: 27 July 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I've had no experience with the 700 w/detachable mag; however, I did leave the mag for my mdl 788 on the kitchen table once. I then drove 200 miles to my deer hunting spot.................need I say more?

Posts: 2037 | Location: frametown west virginia usa | Registered: 14 October 2001Reply With Quote
<Gunnerdog>
posted
The biggest downfalls of a detachable magazine have to do with simple mechanics. In other words, the more moveable, or re-movable parts you have, the greater chance of something going wrong. Or, as was already mentioned, losing the magazine.

The good thinks all have to do with convenience. You can have the mag loaded and out of the rifle. To load, you simply insert the mag and cycle the action.

Personally, I don't really care much about a detachable mag. I am just as happy with a standard mag with a floor plate.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have one in my Mountain Rifle in 30-06. I like the idea that I can climb my tree stand, insert a clip and chamber a round and I'm ready. Sure it's possible to forget your clip, but couldn't we also forget our ammo, license, etc.?

Bob257

Posts: 434 | Location: Pennsylvania, USA | Registered: 22 November 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of wildcat junkie
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Bob257:
I have one in my Mountain Rifle in 30-06. I like the idea that I can climb my tree stand, insert a clip and chamber a round and I'm ready. Sure it's possible to forget your clip, but couldn't we also forget our ammo, license, etc.?

Bob257

I have a 7mm-08 and a 280 M700 Mountain Rifle DM.

I agree with with Bob257 100%. I just double check that I have my clip when I leave the house.