Notify
Tools

Osceola help
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of cooperjd
posted
Folks,

I will be traveling down to Orlando, FL in a month or so and try to find an Osceola bird to bring back with me.

I am pretty new to turkey hunting, but will have another friend of mine along thats a turkey killing machine. Problem is, he is a killing machine that lives in Colorado.

So, do any of you have any recommendations on where to look for some public hunting land within the vicinity of Orlando? We are not afraid to drive a little, but will be staying in Orlando with a friend of mine.

We don't have a lot of time, maybe 3 hunting days around the weekend of Apr. 7th.

thank you for any input.
John

Posts: 779 | Location: Mt Pleasant, SC | Registered: 19 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I thought of trying this a few times since my dad lives in Orlando.....I found it prohibitively difficult in terms of DIY logistics(and I'm not paying $2k+ for a turkey anytime soon). I'll be watching this thread closely.

Posts: 2717 | Location: NH | Registered: 03 February 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Crazyhorseconsulting
posted Hide Post
How abpout cpontacting Florida Game & Fish and see what info they have.

Even the rocks don't last forever.

Posts: 31014 | Location: Olney, Texas | Registered: 27 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Despite what I said above, I'm gonna give it a go next year I think, provided I can get a decent WMA permit. It looks like the quota permit is the way to go if you want to be in an area that's not crawling with rabid turkey marauders.

The Florida F & W site is very well-constructed and full of helpful content.....much more so than the last time I looked into this. Good luck and I look forward to your report and pics.

Posts: 2717 | Location: NH | Registered: 03 February 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post