New
Find
Notify
Tools

Elk & Scirocco bullets
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Who likes (doesn't like) the Swift Scirocco bullet for elk? Specifically the 180 grain .308 version and the 150 grain .284 version. I have some experience with them but want to see what others thoughts, experiences and opinions are.

Posts: 437 | Location: S.E. Idaho | Registered: 23 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
I find the 150gr/7mm to be on the soft side like the Hornady IB. For elk, I'll stick w/ the NP or if you are a Swift fan, go w/ their A-frame.

Posts: 7752 | Location: kalif.,usa | Registered: 08 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I popped a 4x5 eater bull three years ago (maybe 4) with the 180 Scirroco at 3000 fps at 300+ yds. Forget the exact details right now. DO recall that it killed him handily, though the bullet really retained maybe 50% of it's original weight. A bit of an angle shot as I recall with pretty good penetration.

I also tend to use NP's for about everything. The 150 NP is my universal favorite in both of my .280's and that combination HAS accounted for just about a half dozen elk over the past several years. Also use the 180 in my .300 H&H and thats a killer load as well. It ALL boils down to placement.

FN in MT

Posts: 950 | Location: Cascade, Montana USA | Registered: 11 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I can only opine on the 150 gr. 7mm scirocco performance launched out of my .280 Rem. 3 shots, three PA whitetails dropped in their tracks. Shots were broadside, angling forward from behind the shoulder, and angling back from the front to just behind the last rib. All dropped where they stood, except the forward angling shot which was running and tumbled end over end. None of the bullets were recovered. With the possible exception of hitting the main shoulder bone, I can't see any reason why I should hesitate to use them on an elk.

one of us
Picture of prof242
posted Hide Post