Find
Notify
Tools

Beekeeping anyone?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Not big game at all, but more people read this forum;

I just got set up with two hives, I'm looking to expand to 4 or 5 in the near future.

Does anyone else here keep bees? keen to give advice?

Posts: 2283 | Location: Aussie in Italy | Registered: 20 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I keep bees. You'd never guess it from my name, right? For an excellent source of information, contact the NEOBA (Northeast Oklahoma Beekeepers Assoc.). When I lived in Okla, the president was a lady named Euvonne Harrison who knew everything about everything pertaining to bees. Plus she is a super nice lady that is patient and sharing with new comers.

Posts: 2037 | Location: frametown west virginia usa | Registered: 14 October 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
so are you selling discount honey to fellow shooters?

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have two hives - but I'm no expert. They are working hard right now making a haul on basswood nectar.

2 hives is more than enough - but it gives me a back up when one of them swarms - as one just did at 1715 hrs last friday. 4-5 hives seems excessive since they will produce more honey than one household can use and yet the value of the honey is not enough that one can make enough honey with a few more hives to be worth the effort.

I think you need the economy of a much larger scale to make it worthwhile on a dollar basis. On the other hand, it's great to have 200,000 critters working 24/7 for you. 500,000 might be even better, but I haven't tried it
Brent

Posts: 2255 | Location: Where I've bought resident tags:MN, WI, IL, MI, KS, GA, AZ, IA | Registered: 30 January 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Brent, Express

I am not a bee keeper, but know a few people who are. I suspect the price of honey must be more expensive over here than the States as these people seem to make "useful pocket money" from around half a dozen hives.