New
Find
Notify
Tools

Antelope/Mule Deer Rifle...
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Ok guys, I'm starting to get all my gear together for a hunt this year in WY, and I started to think about the rifle I'm taking. I have a .30-06 that I am going to take with me, it's wearing a 3-9x40 Leupold VariX II, and I'll more than likely shoot 165-grain bullets of some persuasion out of it, I've used the rifle a lot here in PA and WV, hasn't given me any problems when I did my part. I know it will do the same in WY, but I got to thinking that's a long way to go with only one rifle. So I go to the local gun shop for some ideas, and I found a Weatherby Mark V in .300 Weatherby wearing a Leupold VariX III 6.5-20x50. I know I don't need any more power than my .30-06 for either species, but do you think this would be a good rifle to take a hunt like I'm going on? I'm completely new to Western hunting, and I'm not looking at this rifle for additional power, I just thought maybe the flatter trajectory would be helpful for both, and maybe the bigger scope would help on antelope (I know it probably won't, but I like new guns just like the rest of you!)? Just looking for some more opinions on this one, TIA, guys!

I heal fast and don't scar.

Posts: 433 | Location: Monessen, PA | Registered: 23 February 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Justin'

I lived in Montana and New Mexico most of my life. The 06 is vbery good. I would not do the 300 Weatherby. To much scope and recoil. If anything go down to 25-06-270 for antelope and mule deer. the 3x9 is plenty of scope any higher mag is hard to hold still in the wind and show too much mirage.

Have fun, i will bet you love the hunt.

SSR

Posts: 6725 | Location: central Texas | Registered: 05 August 2010Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
No need for the Weaherby the 300wyb has lots more recol the your 06. Unless you plan on shooting the 300 lots before you go I wouldn't jump into more rifle.