New
Find
Notify
Tools

Boddington on Mt. Lion hunting
 Login/Join

<cubdriver>
posted
In the January issue of American Hunter, Boddington stated that the American lion "Will not come to bait" and "Rarely can be coaxed with a varmint call".

Is this the case...? I was under the impression that they could successfully be baited and called where legal.

I was hoping to employ some calling techniques in central Washington state this winter given the opportunity.

Any information on successful techniques would be appreciated.
CD

<X-Ring>
posted
One of my custimers (I'm a auto tech) is a moutain lion guide here in MT. He loves telling the story about the guy who he set out in the Judith Basin area. It seems the hunt that day was for coyotee's (not a custimer hunt just friends) his buddy sits down whith his back to a shrub, and starts calling after awhile out of no where a paw comes aroung from behind a smacks him right in the face. He screams and turns to see he's attacker. Only to see the back end of a young lion bounce off through the brush. They think it was just a young lion confussed by what he was seeing because he's claws where retracted leaveing no marks or damage behind. Well exept underwear stains
Now I can't confirm that story, and it doesn't mean a mature lion will be called in, but it is a case for calling working.
Hope it helps. Even if it just serves to make you laugh. Which we can all use a little more of these days.
X-Ring AKA Scooter

------------------
Praise the Lord, and pass the ammunition!

If your living like there is no HELL, you better be right!

<X-Ring>
posted
cubdriver
Welcome aboard! You won't find a better group of guys on the net. I have learned more about hunting, and had hours of fun talking to these guys. There are some real top shelf people here. Hope you enjoy getting to know them.
X-Ring AKA Scooter

<Zeke>
posted