Find
Notify
Tools

What's a Cougar ?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/new...-years-sighting.html

I always thought they were all the same cat with different names ?
I live near Panther Brook .What are those ?
I thought I saw a pussy cat !

One of Us
Picture of Snellstrom
posted Hide Post
I had no idea that there were reportedly so many variations of our big cat. I'm no scientist but if memory serves me aren't all Mountain Lions/ Cougars called Felis Concolor?
Is this just a ploy that I'm not understanding.?

Posts: 5604 | Location: Eastern plains of Colorado | Registered: 31 October 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Snellstrom
posted Hide Post
Okay I couldn't help it I got on Wikipedia and found more info. Apparently this is old news the Eastern Cougar was declared exstinct in 2011 and is somehow separate from Felis Concolor.

"Today, reports of eastern cougars (Puma concolor cougar) still surface, although it was declared extirpated in 2011."

Wiki stated that Felis Concolor is widely distributed from the Yukon all the way down through the Americas far into South America.

Posts: 5604 | Location: Eastern plains of Colorado | Registered: 31 October 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of billrquimby
posted Hide Post
Felis concolor is the scientific name for the genera and species of all cougars/mountain lions in North and South America.

It covers all "races" or "subspecies" of the cats we call (depending upon region) as "cougar," "catamount," "mountain lion," "panther," "puma," "painter," "onza," etc., etc.

The eastern cougar (Puma concolor cougar) is/was just one of at least six subspecies that also include the Florida panther.

See this site for more:

http://www.panthera.org/node/183

Bill Quimby

Posts: 2633 | Location: tucson and greer arizona | Registered: 02 February 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Skyline
posted Hide Post