New
Find
Notify
Tools

Livingston Montana
 Login/Join

one of us
posted Hide Post
Dan: Head east from town some evening after work on I-90 and keep an eye out for large herds of Mule Deer in the fields to the north! Travel for 60 miles or so. Lots of Deer and Antelope out that way.
Also there is a big Gun Show (400 tables) east of you in Billings on September 12th-14th at the MT. Pavillion. This is usually a very good show!
Enjoy the Livingston area! I was just in Yellowstone Park this past week and the Elk are simply decimated there! In Hayden Valley where I used to see hundreds of Elk a day I never saw one live Elk! There was a carcass out there of something but no live Elk were seen! I have been visiting Yellowstone for 35 years now and the outrageous prices and the lack of Elk and Moose have finally given me doubts that I will ever return! The only Elk calves I saw in two days of intense looking were between houses in the Mammoth area! Safe place to hide from the Wolves?
Price problems = $20.00 to get in the gate! $18.00 for an unimproved spot to park a pickup! No electric, no water, no sewer - no nothing! $10.00 for a fishing permit that for decades was free! $2.00 for a small bag of ice etc etc etc. Its still beautiful in September and full of natural wonders but the Wolves have spoiled it for me! Even the park employees are worried about the overabundance of Wolves and their predation on the Elk, Moose and Sheep! My favorite Sheep photographing ridge now has a sign at the bottom stating "AREA CLOSED - NO ENTRY - SHEEP STUDY AREA"!
Hold into the wind
VarmintGuy

Posts: 3067 | Location: South West Montana | Registered: 20 August 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'll definately check out that gun show. The Houfbrau, hmm? Ok, if I can find it, I'll go there. Thanks, and I'll keep an eye out for Mulies. - Dan

Posts: 5285 | Location: Alberta | Registered: 05 October 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Rimrock,