THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AMERICAN BIG GAME HUNTING FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  American Big Game Hunting    Can a U.S. citizen sell a gun to someone in Canada?

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Can a U.S. citizen sell a gun to someone in Canada?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Someone is interested in a rifle I have but I have no experience with this type of sale. Thanks for your thoughts.

Posts: 4168 | Location: Texas | Registered: 18 June 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Yes, at least from the Canadian side. I don't know what is required to go south. Basically, you just ship it to the person who wants to buy it (assuming this is a person to person deal, and not through a dealer)and it will be held at Canadian Customs for the person to pick up and pay the tax/duty on the item. The CCRA (Customs) people may or may not require the person picking it up to register the firearm and get a transfer authorisation from the Federal Firearms people (you can do that by phone with the gun info). A lot depends on the type of gun and the particular customs person you have to deal with. Handguns and certain assault type rifles are restricted, some are banned (say thank you to a liberal government) by name (literally). The law states that the person picking it up should register etc, but it really depends on the CCRA people in practice. Hope this helps. - Dan

Posts: 5284 | Location: Alberta | Registered: 05 October 2001Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Methinks you might need an export permit.

Your best and safest bet is to check with the 'fine and friendly folks' at the nearest ATF office (check the blue pages of your phone book, under Treasury) before you find yourself in violation of the Arms Export Control Act or somesuch.

George

------------------
Shoot straight, shoot often, but by all means, use enough gun!