Find
Notify
Tools

Turkey Diary
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Aspen Hill Adventures
posted
I have been trying hard for a turkey the past few years. The main issue has been property access so I have very little experience with these big birds. They are considered big game here in Michigan. I got onto some property today and here is what happened:

~~~~~~~~~~
Today's turkey hunt was neat. I had not pre-scouted as I got permission just last night. I had a long visit with the property owner who goes away for the winter. She is very supportive of hunting though she does not hunt herself. But it is the property I lease to hunt deer on and I had seen turkeys there many times during deer season and knew some of the trees they liked to roost in until the leaves fell. Once the leaves went, so did the turkeys.

I decided I would take my chance that they would be using them now. I figured if they weren't, at least I might find them this morning by listening for birds. I was basically out to scout but ready if the opportunity appeared. Damp and Humid, hot already, I am up at 0430 hours. Took the day off work to take a go take on turkeys. I get out there at 0520 hours. Once parked and "saddled up", I started to walk slowly into the woods, the high canopy well sprouted in spring leaf. I put some "Sneaky Leaves" on my camo last night. I will blend in well, I think to myself!

The woods was still and the air thick with humidity, it stormed furiously last night. But I could see stars through the hazy darkenss now. I wore my rubber boots since there had been so much spring rain. Good thing I did, the woods were sopping wet. I walked on towards the last place I saw birds roosting in fall.