New
Find
Notify
Tools

is the 7mm-08 underrated?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have no experience with the 7mm-08 myself, nor do I know anyone that shoots one.

It seems to me that with the popularity the .308win enjoys that a slightly faster, albeit lighter version should be equally popular.

It may just be that I have never encountered it and the 7mm-08 is much more populare than I imagine.

Aside from the narrower range of bullet weights availiable, what are the reasones this cartridge been a great success?

Posts: 2283 | Location: Aussie in Italy | Registered: 20 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I don't know why it's not more popular Joe. I used one for all my hunting for about three years (yes, all, moose, elk, deer, wolves, bears, coyotes). I think it's a great cartridge, accurate, mild recoil, some great bullet choices (including some down range hummers) and economical to reload and shoot. FWIW - Dan

Posts: 5284 | Location: Alberta | Registered: 05 October 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
It's a great little cart. for most NA game. I had one in a little Sako Mannlicher, but sold it. I'm not sure what you mean by "narrower" range of bullets though. With 100, 115, 120, 130, 140, 145, 150, 160 & 175gr bullets, you pretty much cover everything from large varmints to small elk. Recoil is very light even in ultra-light rifles. A good choice for young or female hunters, much better than sending them out w/ a .243 for big game. [Eek!]

Posts: 7752 | Location: kalif.,usa | Registered: 08 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by fredj338:
A good choice for young or female hunters, much better than sending them out w/ a .243 for big game. [Eek!]

Why?

How much more recoil is there? How much better the ballistics? How much deadlier as a 200-250 yd deer/antelope rifle is it?

Curious, my wife needs a Browning low wall .243 or something equally light and at least as lethal.