Find
Notify
Tools

barrel replacement
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Upton O. Good
posted
I have a Sako 75 in .300 Rem Ultra mag that is unfired (I inherited it). This much too much rifle for me and it was suggested I replace the barrel which means also the bolt. I'm not a firearms expert but it seems there really isn't any logical way to convert this rifle to, say, a .300 WSM or .300 Win Mag. Any thoughts, suggestions, or ideas other than I've got my head where the sun doesn't shine? Further, I live in western Washington and do not know a single gunsmith qualified to offer help.

Thanks in advance for your input. (If this isn't the correct location for this post, also please advise.)

One of Us
Picture of Alberta Canuck
posted Hide Post
You have at least a couple of alternatives. One is to get some setimates for conversions from local gunsmiths. A trip to the local rifle range could find the names and addresses of those for you.

A second alternative is to sell the rifle you inherited and buy one you want. You should be able to get enough cash from a nice, new, Sako in .300 UltraMag to pay for just about any other mass produced bolt action rifle you would want.

Posts: 9685 | Location: Cave Creek 85331, USA | Registered: 17 August 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Upton O. Good
posted Hide Post
Alberta, the rifle has been on consignment at a local gun shop for nine months, no bites. I'll check with someone else at my gun club as the individuals I have spoken with have no good suggestions. Your thoughts are very appreciated, thank you.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
perhaps a bit off the wall, but I got the idea from the other thread in this sector, about the 300RUM. Why not rebarel it as a .404Jeffery? A bit different and much more pleasant than the current chambering...

my 2c

Finman

better have a gun and not need it than need a gun and not have it....

one of us
Picture of z1r
posted Hide Post